Import CSV from local

Hi, I am new to memsql and trying to import local csv from Windows computer using memsql studio.

My setup:

1. Spun up a test cluster on AWS with 1 master node and 1 leaf node using the default cloudformation template.
  2. Have a local CSV on my windows computer and tried importing to a table on the cluster.

Tried the following and getting file not found error for csv(which kind of make sense because it is a local file).
LOAD DATA INFILE ‘C:/temp/brentwood_p01_nogeom.csv’
INTO TABLE brentwood_p01_nogeom
COLUMNS TERMINATED BY ‘,’;

LOAD DATA INFILE ‘C:\temp\brentwood_p01_nogeom.csv’

1. Tried this and getting a message that LOCAL file is not supported on memsql studio.
    LOAD DATA LOCAL INFILE ‘C:/temp/brentwood_p01_nogeom.csv’

2. Copied the file onto the master node and tried the following command. Still getting file not found error.

LOAD DATA INFILE ‘/tmp/brentwood_p01_nogeom.csv’

I am missing something very trivial. Any suggestions to make it work?

Thanks!

Hello @rtpsr,

MemSQL Studio cannot read from local files since it runs inside a browser and browsers don’t have access to the underlying filesystem.

For now, you’ll have to figure out an alternative such as loading from S3, or using a mysql CLI to load the file. We’re working on finding a way that Studio can be used for file upload as well.

1 Like

Thanks @david. I went with S3 option for testing.

Hi rtpsr,
I am new to MemSQL and i have only MemSQL studio env . and no other memsql client or external database . i have access to aws S3 .
one question , if i want to load certain s3 files from aws s3 to MemSQL env . do we need to create pipeline , if yes where do i need to create this pipeline
and is there any privileges need to provide through Mem sql editor.

Regards,

Mangesh

Hi,